My Love Affair with Chocolate Cake

Belgium Chocolate and Fresh Mint Cake

Belgium Chocolate and Fresh Mint Cake

Chocolate is one of my favourite things. Every night, my fiancée makes me a hot chocolate to take to bed. I don’t often eat pudding, but instead, relish occasionally tucking into a few squares of dark chocolate of an evening.

If ever there a choice of cake, I’ll always opt for chocolate. My Bristol friends will vouch for the fabulous chocolate cake made by Stokes Croft’s Cafe Kino. A slice joined me at my desk many times with a cup of tea, to see me through the afternoon.

So I thought it was about time I made my own special chocolate cake, using Belgium chocolate and fresh mint.

Finely chopped mint runs through the sponge and decorates the top, along with melted chocolate and a drizzle of soya cream. It’s a big cake for those with a passion for chocolate and a hearty appetite!

Belgium Chocolate and Fresh Mint Cake
Makes 1 large cake
Preparation/cooking time 50 mins

330g/12 oz self-raising flour
5 tbsp cocoa powder
225g/8oz caster sugar
1½  tsp bicarbonate of soda
25g/1oz Belgium chocolate, chopped into small pieces
2 sprigs of fresh mint, finely chopped
290ml/10½  fl oz soya milk
100ml /3½ fl oz sunflower oil
2 tbsp soya yoghurt
1 tsp vanilla essence

Topping
100g/3oz Belgium chocolate
1 sprig of fresh mint, chopped
1 tsp soya cream

1. Pre heat your oven to 200C/Gas Mark 6.
2. Sieve dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Then add in chocolate pieces and mint.
3. Measure out soya milk, oil, yoghurt and essence into a jug and mix.
4. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the liquid into the centre. Briskly whisk to form your cake mixture.
5. Grease and line a large cake tin.
6. Spoon in the mixture.
7. Bake for 35-40 mins or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
8. Cool on a wire rack.
9. Melt the chocolate for the topping (in a glass bowl placed in a pan of simmering water) and spoon it over the cake, smoothing over with a spatula. Sprinkle with mint, then drizzle with soya cream. Gently run the end of the skewer through the topping, to give a marble effect. Allow the topping to set.

3 thoughts on “My Love Affair with Chocolate Cake

  1. What a delicious looking cake! You have connections with Bristol – I just graduated from there a year ago :D. It’s a gorgeous city isn’t it? I’m rather a sucker for chocolate too – That cake looks so indulgent… I want it.

  2. Pingback: Back to Work Double Chocolate Chip Cake with Fluffy White Buttercream | lucysfriendlyfoods

Leave a Reply

