Big Birthday Chocolate Cakes

In my quest to improve my cake icing skills – this afternoon I baked two big chocolate cakes and piped them with chocolate butter icing.

The occasion is a very special 70th birthday party tomorrow – where most of the guests will be sampling a vegan cake for the first time.

The cakes weren’t masterpieces in terms of presentation, but the sponge is rich, moist and chocolaty.

I have my fingers crossed that the party guests will enjoy the cakes very much.

Happy Birthday to Jean, my future mother-in-law.

I can’t take credit for the recipe, it is taken from vegan recipe book 1066 Cake Stand’s Compendium of Cakes.

The only change I made to the recipe was using soya milk instead of water.

The icing is half vegan marg, half vegetable fat, mixed with cocoa and icing sugar.

20121103-190639.jpg

One thought on “Big Birthday Chocolate Cakes

Leave a Reply

