Squash, Mushroom & Lemon Risotto

Squash, Mushroom & Lemon Risotto

Squash, Mushroom & Lemon Risotto

I realised the other day, I have only made Risotto a handful of times, that I can recall. How has this happened? how has such a potentially tasty and simple meal escaped my saucepans all these years?

After eating a rather nice one at my Aunty Helen’s house at the end of September, I’ve had it in my mind to rustle up a new recipe of my own. And what better way to use up some pumpkin I had left over from my recent pumpkin pie. You could use any lovely Autumn squash instead of pumpkin. Roasted butternut squash would also be particularly good.

This risotto is rich, creamy, flavoursome and moorish. Be prepared to help yourself to a large portion and enjoy for lunch the next day! Other flavour ideas would include porcini mushrooms, plum tomatoes, edamame beans and roasted cashew nuts.

It’s definitely a dish I plan on making again soon; cheap, easy to prepare and pretty comforting. My boyfriend also raved about it, so that’s a result!

Squash, Mushroom & Lemon Risotto
Serves 2-4
Preparation/cooking time 30 mins

2 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
150g/5½  oz squash, cubed (eg pumpkin or butternut squash)
250g/9 oz mushrooms, sliced
300g/10½ oz risotto rice
1 litre vegetable stock
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 handfuls of spinach
Salt & pepper
2 tbsp nutritional yeast flakes

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan and fry the onion and garlic on a medium heat, until soft and lightly browning.
2. Add in the squash and mushrooms and cook for a further 2 minutes, before stirring in the rice. As you do so, make sure all the grains become coated in oil.
3. Over a period of between 15-20 mins, gradually stir in the stock, a cup at a time. Make sure the liquid is soaked up by the rice before adding anymore. This process cooks the rice slowly as you go.
4. When the liquid has all been incorporated and the rice is cooked, add in the lemon juice. Stir in the spinach so it wilts into the risotto.
5. Season to taste.
6. Stir in a splash of soya milk if your risotto is slightly too sticky. Sprinkle with yeast flakes to serve.

One thought on “Squash, Mushroom & Lemon Risotto

  1. What a funny coincidence! I made a very similar risotto for dinner last night. The main difference was that I used carrot instead of squash, but mushrooms are a must. I bought a ton of dried porcini mushrooms, so I always have them around and can throw a handful into quick dishes like this.

Leave a Reply

