The quickest vegan chocolate cake ever, in a pot or mug

image

image

Iolo and I have been out all day, cycling around in the cold. On arriving home, all we could think of was hot chocolate and cake to warm us up.

So I remembered someone had told me this week about microwavable vegan mug cakes when we were talking about quick desserts. I must confess I’ve never made one and never cook in a microwave, but I thought we’d give it a go. Iolo is now three and loves helping in the kitchen! So we gave it a go and it was a great, tasty success.

We loosely followed a recipe by Not Quite Nigella and here is my adaptation.

It produces a moist and rich chocolate cake/hot pudding that really was rather nice! You can make it in a cup or ramekin like I did.

image

image

image

image

image

Vegan Chocolate Cake in a Pot
Preparation/cooking time 5 mins

3 tbsp plain flour
2 tbsp cocoa
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp dark chocolate chips
1/4 tsp baking powder
4 tbsp plant milk (I used soya)
1 tbsp rapeseed oil
1 tsp natural peanut butter (like Meridian)

1. Combine all dry ingredients into a small bowl and mix. Stir in and combine oil and milk.
2. Spoon into a cup or pot. Make a hole in the top and add the peanut butter.
3. Microwave on half power for one minute. Check to see if the cake is cooked, it should fell set on the top. Return to the microwave for another 30 seconds on half power if needed.
4. Wait to cool a bit before enjoying!

Additions: You could add some berries on top or mixed nuts to add more flavour and texture.

Leave a comment